I lasted six years

That’s right. Six whole years… of refusing to get cable.

Technically, I still refuse to pay for it. I have enough things to do that I don’t need to add watching TV to my list–outside of Hulu, of course. And Netflix, but those are all past shows/seasons. And whenever I’m at my parents’ house.

Then I got a call from Comcast to let me know that my current “deal” (still too expensive in my book) for internet was about to expire. At first I thought it was a scam–I’d never received a call from them before.* Usually I have to call them each time my promotional price expires to talk them into giving me a better deal.

The girl eventually convinced me that it wasn’t a scam and offered me a new deal–I’d pay the exact same amount each month, but I’d get cable with HBO on top of my internet.

It still doesn’t make any sense to me whatsoever… but I couldn’t agree to the other option–stick with just internet and have my bill increase by $20.

So I’m getting cable. And HBO.

The funniest part (or one of them) is that the first thing I thought, and then what John and his buddy said–now we can watch Game of Thrones! We still have to watch Season 3, though, which still isn’t out on DVD.

I don’t have the cable box yet but I had John move my TV stand and TV from the office where it was hooked up to my internet (for Netflix) into the living room where it can be connected to the cable. I hate to admit it, but I’m actually a tad bit excited.

*I may have received a call and just hung up on them or didn’t answer. I tend to do that when I don’t recognize the number and/or they mispronounce my name.

