fall, tea, and family

This past weekend was the Northwest Tea Festival in Seattle! It was a perfect fall day for tea tasting and exploring the city.

Untitled

I went with my mom, aunt, and two cousins. I didn’t really know what to expect… other than lots of tea. It did not disappoint. We got cute little ceramic tea cups for tasting plus a tote bag for carrying goodies.

Untitled

When we arrived, Emeric Harney from Harney and Sons was giving a presentation on British Tea: Then and Now.

Untitled

We sat and listened to part of it (which I enjoyed) but then decided it was time to explore the many booths of tea! Each vendor had a variety of teas to taste plus tea for sale, tea items, and lots of fun stuff. I tried so many new teas and loved most of them!

Untitled

One of my favorites was a pu-erh tea sweetened with dates. I was tempted to buy some (it comes in a brick!) but it was $40. A little pricey for me. I might indulge one day…

 I couldn’t help buy some other finds…

Untitled

Two tins of Harney and Sons (they were only $5!)–Dragon Pearl Jasmine (a favorite) and Love Life, a blend I hadn’t tried before. From the description I didn’t think I would like it much, but it turned out to be quite pleasant! Plus a tagalong of Harney and Sons Vanilla Comorro (free with purchase!). I also picked up a bag of loose leaf genmai cha. SO GOOD. Mom got the Choice Rest Assured (I grabbed a few bags for myself). After the tea festival we took the monorail down to Pike Place Market…

Untitled

… had lunch at Lowell’s (yummy!!), stopped in at the Perennial Tea Room (where I bought a variety box of Steven Smith teas), Sur la Table, and then headed back to Seattle Center and our cars.

Untitled

It was truly a perfect fall day in Seattle. I had such a great time spending time with my family–just wish my sister could have come!

Untitled

2 responses to “fall, tea, and family

Comments are closed.